You are here

PROGRAMS

Visual Arts

Kevin McElvaney, Agbogbloshie: John Mahama, 2013, digital print. Courtesy the artist.

Fri, Aug 14, 6:00 PM

Join us in celebrating the opening of two exhibitions in our Upstairs...

Wed, Aug 19, 7:30 PM

Dr. Zira is an expert in human behavior. 

Thu, Aug 20, 6:00 PM

Smigiel in conversation with Purnell around Pope.L's Costume Mad of...

Performing Arts

Graphic: Rocko Luciano, Photo: James "Slim" Dang

Sat, Aug 1, 4:00 PM | Sat, Aug 1, 8:00 PM

Get your tickets, wear a costume, and have a ball!

Sat, Aug 1, 4:00 PM | Sat, Aug 1, 8:00 PM

Get your tickets, wear a costume, and have a ball!

Sun, Aug 2, 12:30 PM

Short operettas taken from Cantonese opera classics

Film and Video

The Fly by David Cronenberg, Courtesy 20th Century Fox

Thu, Jul 30, 7:30 PM | Sun, Aug 2, 2:00 PM

Jeff Goldblum is a young scientist transforms himself into a fly in an...

Thu, Aug 6, 7:30 PM | Sun, Aug 9, 2:00 PM

A twisted masterpiece of psychological horror.

Civic Engagement

Courtesy Graywolf Press

Thu, Aug 27, 8:00 PM

A genre-bending memoir about the joys of (...

Thu, Sep 24, 6:00 PM

A brilliant reinvention of the traditional atlas.

Fri, May 1, 2015 to Sun, Aug 16, 2015

An urban research lab.

Initiatives

Besides being a presenter of contemporary art in the major discipline areas above, Yerba Buena Center for the Arts is a site for innovation in placing arts in the center of community life. As a nationally-recognized leader in piloting and fostering new ideas in connecting audiences and arts programing, YBCA's special initiatives include facilitating culturally-relevant work by artists in their own home communities, providing youth with opportunities to receive arts training and leadership development, and creating unique experiences and access to YBCA's full calendar of programs for adults seeking more art in their lives.